Fennel and Orange Salad

IMG_1472

Oh hello…

It sure has been a while since my last post and I sincerely apologize for my disappearance. Life has been pretty hectic for me, mostly due to an overabundance of exams and “busy work.”  Oh, and I’m still trying to figure out what to do after graduation next spring.  Needless to say, I have been hunched over books and in my spare time I am doing some soul searching. However, I am happy to report that I have not stayed out of the kitchen and have some delicious recipes to share, including this fennel and orange salad.

Fennel is something that I only recently started to use in cooking.  I am really not sure why I waited so long but I am definitely going to explore more recipes with fennel.  The sweet and crunchy texture is perfect in this light summer salad paired with sweet oranges and crunchy almonds. I ended up with some leftovers which I later mixed with shredded chicken, Greek yogurt, and a little mayonnaise which turned into quite a delicious chicken salad. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
Ground black pepper, to taste
1 medium fennel bulb
2 medium navel oranges
3 tablespoons orange juice
1 small red onion
1/3 cup raw almonds

Directions:

Slice the top off the fennel bulb, reserve the fronds for a garnish.  Remove the tough outer layer from the fennel bulb and thinly slice.  Thinly slice the red onion, place fennel and onion into a salad bowl.
IMG_1451 IMG_1449
Cut the bottom off of the oranges to stabilize while cutting off the rind. Slice the rind off of the orange making sure to separate the orange flesh from the white pith. Reserve the rinds with orange flesh on them for juicing later.
IMG_1453 IMG_1455
Take a small paring knife and slice the orange in between the thin white membranes, allow the orange slices and the juices to fall into the bowl. Squeeze out any remaining juice from orange bits you have leftover into the bowl.
IMG_1456 IMG_1459
Roughly chop the almonds and place into a small frying pan on medium heat. Toast for a few minutes or until light brown and fragrant.
IMG_1461 IMG_1463
Stir almonds into the salad bowl then drizzle the olive oil over the top. Season with salt and pepper.
IMG_1465 IMG_1467
Toss everything together, add more salt and pepper to taste if you please. Garnish with the fronds.
IMG_1469 IMG_1471
Serves 4.

This entry was posted in Emilee, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

